Miss Sadie

As most of you know, Sadie is our pet goat who, up ’til now, didn’t realize she was a goat. She has been with us since she was 3 days old and always had dogs, calves, cows, chickens, peacocks and a sheep to mother her.

She is now 3 years old and I have seen the goat evolve in the last few days. I have a small flower garden just the other side of our driveway and up until the last few days she has been oblivious to it. She has eaten the new growth on the raspberry bushes, pulled part of my pink rosebush out of the ground and broken alot of my perennials that managed to grow despite the crazy weather.

So I believe Sadie has morphed into what she was intended to be: a goat!  Short fencing was put up today to keep her out of the garden but I can only imagine what my veggie garden is in for when she realizes we have one across the road.

I can tell you right now as I told her earlier today, that I can build a pen or hook her up if she gets too bold. Sweet, little Sadie is no longer. But a goat will eventually do what goats do best; eat everything in sight.

She will grow on you though. After a bit of a straight talk session, she got herself up on a single bale of hay that I was getting ready to feed to the calves and just sat there chewing her cud. What a gal… Gotta love her!

Leave a Reply

