JAKE!

13435388_277583912594871_8077708516648557479_n

Jake will always be Top Dog!

As we creep closer to another Father’s day I catch myself thinking how much of an idol/hero my Father was to me, regardless of the circumstances of life.Also, how ironic it was that, during his year long battle with lung cancer, he told me that he wouldn’t be milking any longer, but if he had a good dog, he’d get the cows in and take them back to pasture. Ya see, at that time we were milking in a tie-stall barn and running cows on pasture up the road a short ways.

Enter into his life JAKE, the dog every dog lover dreams of having. A dog that knows what you are going to ask him before you know yourself! When Carol went and got Jake, he was only three weeks old; she took him up to my father’s bed, where the little shit just laid there so easy while my Father checked him over and gave him his name, Jake, and he told us how great a cow dog he was going to be along with being smart as a whip!

My Father was so right; even though he passed a week later and never got to see how great. Jake was our first Aussie and with out a doubt on the dog world’s Mount Rushmore!!! He was on the small side, as my father…145lbs soaking wet on a good day…but both lived up to the favorite saying by my father,’Dynamite comes in small packages’ or I never lose because I do know how to cheat!’ Through out the years I was blessed to have Jake by my side it was like I still had my father around! That blessed dog nurtured me in some of the hardest years; those years when I had to take all those ‘do it this way, remember that and never do this’ my dear ol dadtold me and I put to use.

That we did, and if you pull into the driveway today, almost 30 years later, you’ll still be met by one or several Aussies, all related to Jake! Also, if we talk long enough and you get me telling stories, you’ll hear about my father telling me ‘You’ll never miss me ’til I’m gone,’ of which he was spot on there, too.

Happy Father’s Day, Dad; You too, JAKE.

7 Comments

  1. I can’t imagine my life without a Aussie friend by my side……..and all of us who were/are lucky enough to have great fathers will always be grateful for the lessons & memories shared. Thank You for your blog ! Happy Fathers Day Patti

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Ed you write one f the best blogs ,thanks t o Katz for introducing us Lori and I have Milly a Border Collie she knows the cows and how to work them . Again thank you very much Ed and Carol KEEP UP THE GOOD WOR

    Like

    Reply

  3. Such a great story and how nice your Dad had Jake to comfort him in the end. My Aussie Yogi is such a great comfort to me when I need it. He is my velcro dog.

    Like

    Reply

  4. GREAT STORY — THERE IS SOMETHING ABOUT STORIES THAT INCLUDE DOGS AND DADS. MY DAD, I MISS HIM AND MY MOTHER. I MISS THE FIRST DOG I EVER HAD, ALTHOUGH I SHOULD SAY, MY PARENTS HAD. THE NAME WAS DIXIE . I GUESS MY MOTHER NAMED HER, AS SHE WAS FROM THE SOUTH.—– WITH THAT IN MIND, I CAN RELATE TO THIS ” BEJOSH ” POST FOR TODAY.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

