Big Mouth…

breakdowns

It is great when they work well!

We have a New Holland 5060 baler which is now going thru it’s 5th season and like the odometer on a car, balers have a counter that keeps record of every bale it makes as they pass through.

Well, foolish me, while talking to a neighbor, I was bragging how the bale counter is over 35,000 bales and I have only broken one shear pin; I don’t turn the counter back after a field is done, instead I keep a little book in the tractor where I write down each field’s production along with each cutting. Multiple cuttings are usually don and I also keep track of different crops baled, such as straw vs hay.

In short I was piling it on deep in the brag department, showing that I don’t write all my records in the dust on the baler, like my father did! Just call me ‘modern Eddie, Extraordinaire…

Open mouth, Insert foot…Saturday I went through every shear pin I had with me, while baling so I quit for the day and went down, tore the shop apart and found six more and blew them by mid-day Sunday…Father’s Day no less… having checked every adjustment umpteen times  and read the ‘book’ I got at purchase, back and forward…It was time!

Yes, I admit defeat! Tomorrow (monday) the dealer will be called and because I hate service calls so bad; also knowing this is something very simple that I should have seen.

My last resort in explaining my jproblem I’ll kinda’ ask ‘Well maybe there is something I should try before you drive all the way down here!!’ Let’s hope the damned ‘book’, or excuse me, Owner’s manual should go under my pillow…Osmosis…because I got done before midnight so I’m getting some sleep tonite.

One Comment

  1. “IT DOES NOT RAIN, BUT IT POURS” IS WHAT HAPPENS WENT THINGS GO WRONG. —— BUT I’LL PRAY THAT IT DOES NOT RAIN NOR POUR BEFORE YOU GET THAT HAY AND STRAW BAILED AND STORED IN YOUR BARN

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

