‘Nick”canic!

fresh airMr. Nick, my favorite mechanic, was summoned to the farm yesterday, after a phone “walk through” by Sir John, on my baler problems. Luck would have it, Nick was headed our direction on another call as soon as he returned to the shop. Good golly Miss Molly, thank you!

We are quite lucky here at Bejosh, not having that many service calls, due in part to being small and our machines don’t get ram rodded over hundreds of acres plus through the years we’ve tried to do as many of our own repairs as possible; sometimes with success and sometines not, but in this case we felt a professional was best. By observing and asking questions, next time the baler falls ill, I’ll go spend the night at a Holiday Inn Express and do the repairs myself!

After Mr. Nick ran a little hay through the baler and gave me the thumbs up on it, I headed to the field to rake what hay was ready for the day. With the weather looking like possible rain for last night, a call was put in to a local friend Dave, who has a large square baler. See, I had only one wagon empty and the young neighbors/relatives who help unload hay with me ( I don’t have Carol unload much any more ), were either at school or at their other job; not getting the hay wet was my #1 goal.

So the plan was to have Dave come and bale the bigger field and I’d test the baler on the small section with my one empty wagon. Well…my baler worked ‘mag-Nick-acent’; done in no time! Poor Dave, his baler needed a Nick fix, too and who would have thunk it, Nick was still in the area, fixing another baler just over the hill; so Dave’s baler got it’s Nick fix!!

In the meantime, my helpers showed up and we got two wagons unloaded. Things were looking good! Plans to unload the other wagons were made for after milking so that left me enough time before milking to get the tractor (Carol’s little Blue) and the trailer along with the skidsteer and load up the big bales -4’x4’x8′-  and get them in the shed before milking.

Well it all sounded good. When checking the tires on the trailer, one was soft, OK flat, but remember two out of three ain’t bad, so three out of four, no problem>>> It is an old flat trailer and I’ll go slow!

I loaded the bales all on one load and headed toward the barn only to hear a gun shot, which turned out to be a tire blowout at about the halfway mark…You guessed it, I pulled a Charlie Daniels, and limped on down the shoulder of the road on the rim…Don’t tell Carol, glad she had errands to run… Hey, did I tell ya my baler worked great????

3 Comments

  1. I HAVE LEARNED THAT LESION , MORE THAN ONCE. I DON’T TELL WHEN I SPOIL A TIRE. YEP ; SOME THINGS ARE BETTER KEEP TO OURSELVES. MY PROBLEM IS, I FORGET IT MORE THAN I RECALL IT. OH WELL , SOMEDAY I’LL GROW UP.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

