Helped another Bird…Again

As Forrest Gump would put it, “I may not be a smart man, but I know what blessed is…”!! Yesterday, as earlier this year, the opportunity to help a bird in distress came my way. This time it was a Red-Tailed Hawk who gave me the chance to hold him so I could lightly check him over for any problems; then I took him to an open field so as to make sure he was able to fly without troubles.

He had gotten himself caught in chicken fencing and with the use of bare hands and sweet talk I was able to free him. So awesome that he trusted me to help him; such a magnificent, beautiful bird. A chance meeting I’ll never forget as hopefully he won’t either!

What a year: a bear hug from a real bear along with helping two different hawks!

4 Comments

  1. What a wonderful experience, we have two red tails hanging around our house and the closest I got was to take some pictures of one sitting in the birdbath. I think they are helping themselves to our Voles.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Unbelievable! You really should have been ripped to shreds by it’s talons. You must be a bird whisperer. Great photos of the releasing of the hawk. Glad all turned out well.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

