My Farmer and Me…The Pumpkin

kindnessI have an overwhelming feeling of doing good today…

I was just down to our little veggie stand to check on what was left and looking every thing over, I noticed one of the smaller pumpkins seemed to be getting soft so I was going to bring it up to the house to put out as a decoration. While I was standing there a car had pulled in and a tall nicely dressed young man got out and asked how my day was going.

I said it was going well and asked how his was…He said he has had a tough few days, but seems to be doing better today, and was very excited to find Zucchini and pumpkins. Now, I don’t have a lot of veggies at my stand but he wanted two large squash and two large pumpkins and seemed to be relieved that he found them.

Was kind of hard to get a word in, as he seemed to have something on his mind and I was just kind of waiting for him to get to it. As he was talking to me, he referred to me as ‘mam and told me why he was in the area.

It seems he has been ‘home’ for a funeral of a friend that he grew up with and to squeeze in some sight seeing and exploring back roads in different locations before he headed back. He had been thinking about an elderly ( I think he said  94 yr. old) woman he was going to stop in and see in Massachusetts, spend the night there and get back on the road in the afternoon. She writes to him quite a bit and has promised him some Zucchini/Pumpkin bread to take with him.

At that point, my grandson went by, drawing a wagon full of silage to put in the bagger and he said that must be someone special because I lit up when he waved! Imagine a stranger noticing that…I explained what we were doing and that Jai gave me the afternoon off and he took over my job. Said how much that must have meant to me, and that he misses his family, who have all passed on except for some cousins that he isn’t sure of anymore.

I really don’t know how he came to stop at Bejosh today, but I wished him luck and a safe trip home. He carried the large pumpkin to the car and I carried the 2 zucchini and put them in his trunk for him. When I walked back past the driver side of the car, I noticed a military uniform hanging on the other side. I asked him and he said he was in the Navy and had to head back to sea on Wednesday. I thanked him for his service and he replied by saying ‘thank you for your service to our country as well.’ Then he added’God Bless all the Farmers.”

As he got into his car he said he would be back around the middle of March next year and with any luck we’ll talk more. I gave him one of our card and he said he would look up our website when he gets back.  All I know is his name is Adam and the license plate on the car was Maryland. As quickly as he pulled in he was pulling out. Headed for Rte 22 and Massachusetts I suppose.

Oh, and I refused his money for the veggies. I said just give me a hug and be safe and he promised he would…I hope he makes it back for that talk!

6 Comments

  1. This was a wonderful story..thank you for sharing it…I hope he stops back to see you again when he passes through, and may he stay safe…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

