Maturity…at any age

1410Ed2450_315920425427886_6606656872206219834_nMy first age related decision , non-decision, came at the ripe old age of four; and by the way, I hate grapes…

It all came about due to District 13 one room school house…which Bejosh farm now owns (it is out along side the free stall barn on Shaftsbury Hollow Rd…was going to close in 1957, the year after I was to start school. Hence, instead of just going to the one room school for one year, off I went to Hoosick Falls.

My destination would be Parson Street School…I think…where it was kindergarten, first, second and maybe third grades.

My vivid recollection is after that long and exhausting bus ride…first one on, last one off…like cattle we were herded into a long hall with big tables and very old looking ladies asking your name and what grade you were in. Hey look, there is Mrs Andrew, Maurice’s mother, I know her. Instead, the mean old bitch, I mean Mrs. Neu (???) barked at me. Your name is…ED! More barks, more questions…After obviously taking too long Mrs. whats-her-name, figured Ed needed more barking along with some bites to get his shit together.

Bet you can’t guess who Ed’s teacher was, as he entered his schooling career as a 4 year old in the 1st grade…that BBB (barkin, bitin bitch)…as you can see the student-teacher relationships were not good and she was always doing something to make it worse. As I wasn’t going to be 5 ’til November, I should have been in kindergarten…

Case in point, the day my mother sent grapes in my lunch! Every day after lunch, ‘teach’ would walk around the room checking lunch pails to make sure every one ate up. Knowing inspection was coming, I opened the window right next to me, pushing the grapes Mother sent by mistake out but not realizing there was a screen. My inspection was going great until Mrs BBB reached over to shut the window and those damned grapes appeared!

Refusing to eat grapes from a dead fly-infested window sill got me he rest of the day sitting in that big long hallway, where it all started…kicking the chair leg which I was to be sitting in, swinging my legs, tapping my toes…the beginning…that’s what this is all about…

November 20, 1952, when at the first red light going into Bennington, my mother yelled at my father, ‘You’d better hurry, Jun!’ 9lbs. 9ozs of pure joy, which in later years she would say was quick and easy…something the ladies have always seemed to say to be polite, I surmise…

Yeah, it’s my birthday. Happy Birthday to me!!! Oh, by the way, Mrs Neu, I got my shit together and I still hate grapes!!!

 

12 Comments

  1. To the person we call dad, Grampy, Ed and Eddie Happy Birthday. Jordan says ” your Eddiemath has taught me to measure three times and cut once.” Thank you. Chad says ” Thank you for all your help with my dilemmas and projects.” Kate says “Thank you for always making me wonder what sort of conversation we will have.” Kaylah says ” Thank you because without you I wouldn’t have crazy cow names and my love of swiss.”

    Like

    Reply

  2. To the person we call dad, Grammy, Ed and Eddie Happy Birthday. Jordan says ” your Eddiemath has taught me to measure three times and cut once.” Thank you. Chad says ” Thank you for all your help with my dilemmas and projects.” Kate says “Thank you for always making me wonder what sort of conversation we will have.” Kaylah says ” Thank you because without you I wouldn’t have crazy cow names and my love if swiss.”

    Like

    Reply

  3. Happy Birthday Ed, hope you get some Birthday love & snuggles from Miss Sadie ! Wishing you many more Birthdays. Happy Thanksgiving to the entire Bejosh Clan !

    Like

    Reply

  4. Happy Birthday Ed…. Wishing you much Happiness today and always….AND…. NO BBB…… πŸŽΆπŸŽ‚πŸŽ‰πŸŽΆπŸŽ‚πŸŽ‰ Rebecca

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

