Putting My Foot Down…

17191295_card411004212586173_6238456559872121699_nIn conversations with Jon and Maria back before her India trip,due in part to how often our computer goes down, they have been trying to convince me to do a go fund me for a new computer, to which I am now saying no, but thank you.

My reasons, in no special order are : first, I am a rookie at Blog stuff, still learning, very unproven and besides, it is not what I do for a living, it’s what I’m trying to get into and help make a living with while also getting farming’s message out there…Would rather everyone drink two glasses of whole milk each day than fund my computer.

Maybe I did it wrong by not explaining that the wind chimes and other creations, along with the t-shirts we are selling over the blog will go towards funding it, along with money from selling bull calves sold for oxen and garden soils I sell this spring. These will all get me to a new computer in no time.

My feeling on asking the people reading my writing or watching our videos, I must feel I am worthy that you are getting info or humor on that everyday basis; and I ain’t giving up til I get there.

On a family note, March 4 Happy Birthday to my mother, gone now 16 years. Although we never saw eye to eye, even you would marvel at my doing this writing and art…So how did that song go, “How do you like me now?”  Well, something like that.

One last thing…the winter has been slow with doing videos and posts with so much time spent feeding and tending to the animals, but please stay tuned with warmer weather coming, cause we’ve got a goPro with many ideas.  Remember, we ain’t givin up!!!

12 Comments

  1. Having never met you and Carol personally, but feeling as if I do know you both pretty well from reading your blog and watching the great videos that you make, I can say that I am not surprised to hear that you feel more comfortable with earning the funds for your new computer yourself. It would never occur to me to ask others to pay for something that I could finance myself. You are so creative that I know you will find ways to earn the money and it will mean so much more to you because you did it yourself.I love the creations that you make out of old forgotten things and give them new life.

    Like

    Reply

  2. I drink my 2 glasses plus of milk every day …..I grew up on a farm in NY state…my grandparents…and there is nothing better tasting then that glass of milk with the cream on top that comes from your cows fresh…. I love reading your blogs …. they bring back my memories of growing up on the farm. I love reading about the newly born calf blogs…. how many times I would come home from school and the new babies would be in the barn waiting for me to help my uncles teach them how to drink milk from a bucket…. I enjoy your farm stories so very much…. I hope your cold gets better.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Ed, I enjoy you sharing your news just fine. If you don’t have time to make videos, that’s ok by me. Yup, I surely appreciate the fact that you take time away from farming to share things.
    As for shying away from crowdfunding, I have to say that I can see your side. I’m not one much for charity myself. Oh, I’m big on dishing it out but I’m shy to be on the receiving end, Guess it’s just the way I was raised or something. Being a DIY type person, I’d rather earn it myself if I’m capable. Guess that’s why I don’t have a mortgage or a car loan.
    Anyway, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    By the way….double my t-shirt order from 2 to 4. How’s that for “crowdfunding”? I’ll take two of each color. I mean it.

    Like

    Reply

    1. Bless you, but certainly not necessary. I agree with the earn it yourself angle, as we believe there are plenty of other people out there who need help more than we do… Thank you so much for the kind comments…

      Like

      Reply

    2. Just checking to see if you are still interested in Bejosh Farm shirts…if so, what sizes…M,L,XL and color…Blue or green. I have a photo on yesterday’s blog post. Would also need address for shipping…Thank you. Hoping to send them out on Monday.

      Like

      Reply

  4. Just wanted to tell you that I enjoy both of your blogs. I’m a farmer by inclination, but not by trade, so I like reading about your day-to-day lives. I also wanted to tell you I respect your decision to fund your own computer. I admire you greatly for that,and I think it will mean more to you having bought it yourselves. Keep up the fine work.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Re: Go Fund Me….. You are surely most worthy, and I will definitely continue drinking at least two glasses of milk every day!

    Like

    Reply

  6. YOU ARE DOING WELL WITH YOUR OLD MACHINE, WITH A NEW ONE, PERHAPS YOU COULD TYPE FASTER. OF COURSE, WHAT DO I KNOW? PERHAPS IF YOU WERE TO TYPE LESS AND MAKE MORE GIFTS TO SELL, YOU WOULD EARN MORE MONEY—- BUT THE 64 DOLLAR QUESTION ” WOULD YOU BE HAPPY”? ——- HARD TO BELIEVE YOUR MOM HAS BEEN GONE THAT MANY YEARS NOW — I THINK SHE WOULD BE PROUD OF YOU —- TELL HER THAT “PAUL” AND I SAID HELLO WHEN YOU SPEAK TO HER AND PUT A FLOWER ON HER STONE.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Ed, I wonder why are you responding to this in public rather than telling us? It’s up to you, but I’m curious. Let’s talk about it. It seems the sort of thing friends would tell one another directly, not announce on a blog.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

