It’s almost 10 p.m….(Wednesday)

17457360_4Ms Laweeze and baby boy19914915028436_3028669221564289211_nI am just coming in from helping Ms. Laweeze have her calf……a big Brahma cross bull! He looks to be a sharp gray color wit6h red highlights along his top; we’ll see for sure after she licks him dry.

So you can just imagine with my love for cross bred Brahma bulls how fired up I am! With that in mind, I’m going to throw out all the facts I’ve been reading about lately, so maybe someone might give me a reason why milk processors and stores aren’t jumping on this with guns blazing!!!

…First big stat/news flash is in  AARP’s Live Longer, 50 proven ways to add years to your life…# 13, damned close to top ten, was drink whole milk!!!…okay that is kind of a bold statement with facts and research listed so their claims can be checked out!

Then, in the editorial page of Hoard’s Dairyman magazine, they’re telling me how full fat dairy is back; butter whole milk, even eggnog, have regained sales with stats that butter is up 20% in last five years, overtaking records posted near WWII!

Whole milk sales 530 million pounds up thru 10 months of 2016 and stabilizing milk beverage category! Even eggnog with once vilified eggs and whole milk is posting record sales past holiday season!

They then went on to tell how from genetics side more should be done in the future…Wait, hold on, with stats like these and more out there right now, why aren’t processors, big chain stores, mom and pop shops, restaurants, schools…where ever milk and butter are consumed or sold…using this to keep the ball rolling?

Me preaching it on a blog or processor, big store advertisement…who reaches more?

One last stat from Cornell predicts that by 2020, instead of 40,000 dairy producers there will be only 16,000…Yeah…2020, just three years away! I can hear it now,the voice from the commercial ‘what’s in your wallet’ saying ‘know where your food came from’ over a plate of food on your TV screen! Can’t wait!!

Why is this such a burr under my saddle? Well, back years ago, my mother walked into a large chain store to see a big banner in the dairy isle telling every one that milk products were going up because the farmer was getting more!!!!???

That taste has never left my mouth, so all fair in love and war, what’s good for the goose is good for the gander, which ever one fits my frustration!!! oh yes, she bore them a new ass hole, showed them where the bear shit in the buckwheat and more…I think her first words were ‘take me to your manager!!!’

Did I not hear once in business that the customer is always right? So lets give then what they want and need…

3 Comments

  1. My friend uses the expression,” That will show him where the bear ran through the buckwheat.” I like your descriptive version better, and only the second person I have ever heard use this expression.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Congratulations on the newest boy, he sure is handsome ! Thanks for the information on your flutter hawk, and for all the farm stories. I look forward to your blog every day, and really enjoy the photos & videos. Give Miss Sadie some scratches for me. Thanks Again, Patti

    Like

    Reply

  3. Enjoy reading your blog every day, but never commented until now. My dad and uncle both grew up/ran dairy/mixed farms, although my dad also became an engineer. My partner is also from a long line of dairy folk. One common thread: Ayrshires and Jerseys! I agree whole milk is GOOD for you…unless you have an allergy. (Sadly, my partner does, and cannot thole milk, butter, cheese at all. Only diagnosed as Celiac WITH a severe milk protein allergy 15 years ago which made life growing up on the farm ‘interesting’ for unknown at the time reasons) Love reading about the daily life. I live on Prince Edward Island, so never far from the farm life and fields, although I am ‘a little closer to the road’ these days, and I no longer run a tractor or equipment around. Cheers!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

