Holiday Inn Express…

When Carol came back i the house shortly after she had gone out yesterday morning I knew there was trouble. She said Dabba had calved out in the pasture…a good thing…but that she had prolapsed!!! (This happens after the calf is born and the cow continues to strain, pushing the uterus out, also.)

Another bit of good luck was on our side in that it hadn’t been that long…she laid on her right side, flat out and there was no sun to dry out the organ.

I first drove the Little Red Rocket, our old ford ranger farm truck up to where she was at the other end of the pasture, so I could see how bad it was and to make the dreaded decision of save or shoot!

In these types of situations it is economics that make it a harsh reality…Once I saw Dabba still had bright eyes I knew saving her was what I was going to do. Carol started milking and I went back to get 15 gallons of warm water, Betadine, halter , a small pail, two bales of hay and a piece of Patzgard.

Putting everything into the skid steer bucket I headed back to her. After dropping the bucket, I drove skiddie up close to her head so I could tie the halter to skiddie if she didn’t lay still to let me get the uterus  back inside, and so she could only get up and not move around.

Get up she did, and I quickly put 2 bales of hay with Patzgard on top to place her uterus on, while cleaning it all up. When I felt all was cleaned, I placed my left arm under her uterus while pressing it against my chest, used my right hand to slowly work back and forth from top to bottom and then side to side.

When you get enough worked back thru the pelvis gravity helps pull it back down where it belongs! With long arms I am able to make sure it all falls back into place. I know Vets who keep a small plastic wiffle ball bat to make sure everything  is pushed down where it belongs.

Everything worked very smoothly and Dabba strained very little, which was a huge help! Cows can bleed to death from this quite easily when the main artery gets opened by accident. I was very pleased with the very little bleeding during and after!!!

We put her by herself and checked her often, then last night when I milked her she was chewing her cud and acting much better, so just like they say, I’m not a vet, but did sleep at a Holiday Inn Express last night!!!

4 Comments

  1. Oh my, that’s a job and a half! I assisted once in putting a prolapse back in and was mightily impressed how difficult a task it is. The cow kept pushing it out and finally a vet was called in to do a spinal block of some sort. After that the job got completed fairly quickly, if you can call pushing a wet, massive, flaccid, slippery blob back through a small slippery, fleshy hole that doesn’t look like a hole at all, a quick job. To me it seemed a nightmare. In fact I had “cow dreams” for months afterward. I give you a heck of a lot of credit for not just turning that cow into dog food. I think I’d be a lousy cow farmer. More I think about it, maybe I’ll stick with growing veggies.

    Like

    Reply

    1. Just curious how a wet uterus lying in dirt/probably manure, can be “cleaned” and re-inserted into the cow without mass infection ensuing. I know it’s done on farms quite often but always wondered how infection is avoided because there would be no way to rinse off all the dirt.

      Like

      Reply

      1. Yes, you are right…If there is a large enough container available the exposed uterus can be set right into the water and for the most part, the dirt, pebbles, grass or whatever can be rinsed off easily and then rinsed again with clean water. Then can be carefully patted to dry as good as possible before re-inserted. Cows would generally be put on an antibiotic to help fight an infection and their temperature monitored. So far, all is good for Dabba. Thanks for asking.

        Like

Leave a Reply

