Dumped on…

new baby20294236_482387662114494_6614947873483383163_nSunday night we got dumped on with a heavy downpour, making thoughts of mowing more hay just that, THOUGHTS!! So Monday became a hodge podge of many different endeavors.

A big one was to draw six loads of manure I had stockpiles in the bump wall area in the free stall. This area gives me flexibility to clean the free stall daily while only having to spread it in the field on a twice a week time frame in busy times like during hay and corn harvesting.

While drawing manure I let the cows run in all of their pastures, true free range, all gates open! Why? Well because with me cleaning up they were locked out of the free stall; keeping them away from their feed…

This free range idea figured would give them plenty to eat till I was done! We have all heard the grass is greener on the other side…Well, Jayda and Sweet Pea agree! I had finished the manure spreading part, changed back to the feed bucket on skiddie and even gave them fresher feed!

Then, still sitting in a non-running skiddie listening to sports talk on the radio about trade rumors involving Yankees, I yelled to the cows to come…Come bossy…I saw they were starting to file in the barn, went back into my daze listening to the radio intending to shut gates after they were all in!

Most likely Daisy or Drupie will be last and that would be my cue, all in!! Unexpectedly, a red car stopped, pointing up the road, saying there was a cow walking slowly down the road. As I walked over I could see Jayda slowly plodding down the middle!!!

I yelled her name and her ears perked up as she began walking faster! In the car the lady started to laugh as she asked if they all had names…did I know them? At the time, my answer was just a simple yes, I’ve always got a couple that push their boundaries, and her reply was, oh just like kids, as she pulled way over to the far side of the road and slowly drove away…

Now , while writing about this adventure I’d say their even more intense than kids. I have never gotten a cow grown up enough to take out the garbage, make their own bed, clean their room, make a sandwich for their own lunch, walk the road by themselves certainly not after dark, get a license or a job, sometime their quite mouthy and can even be dangerous to be around…

So over all I guess she was pretty much right, they are quite similar!!!

***We also had a new baby today, Cootie had a little bull all on her own. Another cow wanted to mother it, but Cootie finally took charge. After she dried him off my Farmer brought him in the calf barn. (Carol)

Leave a Reply

