I See nothing…

1995discbine8904_485015475185046_7921767396309839707_nHave been moving this field for years, and know the one stone over by the last corner, fourth time around, no woodchuck holes, little rough but in all, an easy ride…

So what did I hit?As soon as the mower mad the noise, wham, I shut her down…Even went hunting through the hay  and found nothing…

My discbine is not new by any means , right about twenty and she has mowed alot of hay…My theory is the shaft I found broke between the first pod and number two might just turn out to be metal fatigue/old age…

Unlike the weekend job of replacing the cow waterer a couple weeks ago, this baby’s gonna take most of Sunday to get apart, make up parts list, which won’t be cheap, then hope they have it all in stock…

If two pods are broken, which I think, this will be 6 pods in 20 years, one gear box rebuild, 2 new tires, one hydraulic line, at least one set of knives per year, half a PTO (power take-off) shaft and lots of grease…

All repairs done over the years have been done right here at the farm! With that list of repairs, some quite costly, like the PTO $1800 in parts and I did the work.

The question is has this been a good machine? The numbers say yeas!!! In just the last 3 1/2 years have baled over 45,000 small square bales plus have no clue how many round bales or hay that was chopped so this mower has let down lots of hay in 20 years…

In return if when every thing is apart my gut tells me to fix it, I will! Let’s hope tomorrow those two bolts keeping me from having it all apart give up at least before I do go get the cutting torches out, that is…

Leave a Reply

