My Farmer and Me…Gotta Gripe…

Ophelia on a shelfnYes…I am going to gripe about something that has a big impact on farmers…Grain prices…

We get a bulk dairy grain delivered once a month for the milk cows and was a bit taken aback when the bill came for the grain delivered last week…

With milk prices to the farmer going down it is hard to comprehend that the grain used to help the ladies produce the white stuff has gone up, once again.

Now I know a lot of the commodities used in making grains are priced according to the futures market…flooded market or bad harvest and less than needed…but really!!!

Last month we paid $319.75 per ton and this month’s delivery is $328.75 per ton. This is not just our supply company either…everyone is affected.

I will keep this short…how can we be expected to pay more for the grain we need to produce; while making less for our product than last year even? I really cannot think of anything that has gone down in price that could have a positive effect on our future.

1980 milk prices to farmers don’t pay 2018 bills…no smiles there!!!

***Ophelia lounges wherever she pleases!!!*** That does make me smile!

One Comment

Leave a comment